The Spirit of Pink
                                                                                                     "Ribbons of Hope"

                     It's all about Awareness
           Together We Can All Make a Difference

Awareness Ribbons & Meanings

Awareness Ribbons Colors & Meanings


Awareness ribbons as a way for ribbon wearers to make a support for a cause or issue, or adopt ribbon as symbols of awareness. As the different colors of awareness ribbon are already widely used in the jewelry making and design, which is designed to draw awareness to health issues and other issues. Each ribbon color has its own special and important meanings, such as the most well-known red ribbon for support of those with acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS), and the pink awareness ribbon which denotes breast cancer awareness. Other health and social concerns which have also adopted colored ribbons. And awareness ribbon colors may have multiple associated meanings.


Here is a series of awareness ribbon colors and meanings presented in details, the meaning behind the awareness ribbon depends on its color or colors. 

Yellow Ribbon:
Meaning: Support our troops, MIA/POW, suicide prevention, adoptive parents, amber alerts, bladder cancer, spina bifida, endometriosis, and a general symbol for hope. A yellow ribbon with a heart is used to represent the survivors left behind after a suicide.

Red Ribbon:
Meaning: Fight against AIDS and HIV, this ribbon also is a symbol for heart disease, stroke, substance abuse, MADD, DARE, Epidermolysis Bullosa, Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy.

Purple Ribbon:
Meaning: All cancers, pancreatic cancer, thyroid cancer, testicular cancer, domestic violence, ADD, alzheimer's, religious tolerance, animal abuse, the victims of 9/11 including the police and firefighters, Crohn's disease and colitis, cystic fibrosis, lupus, leimyosarcoma, and fibromyalgia.

  Blue Ribbon:
Meaning: Drunk driving, child abuse, Osteogenesis Imperfecta (OI), the victims of hurricane Katrina, dystonia, acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), alopecia, Education, Epstein-Barr Virus, Save the Music, colon cancer, (alternative ribbon color: brown), colorectal cancer (alternative ribbon color: brown), and anti-tobacco - particularly anti-second hand smoke (in Canada; alternative ribbon color: brown), I Love Clean Air/ILCA Campaign (Japan).

Teal Ribbon:
Meaning: Ovarian, cervical, and uterine cancers as well as sexual assault, polycystic ovarian syndrome, and tsunami victims.

Green Ribbon:
Meaning: Childhood depression, missing children, open records for adoptees, environmental concerns, kidney cancer, tissue/organ donation, and worker and driving safety.

Orange Ribbon:
Meaning: Leukemia, hunger, cultural diversity, humane treatment of animals, and self-injury awareness.

White Ribbon:
Meaning: Innocence, victims of terrorism, violence against women, peace, right to life, bone cancer, adoptees, and retinal blastoma.

Pearl Ribbon:
Meaning: Emphysema, lung cancer, mesothelioma, and multiple sclerosis.

Black Ribbon:
Meaning: Amish Support, Anti-Terrorism, Gang Prevention, Gun Control, Melanoma, Mourning, Narcolepsy, POW/MIA (alternative color: Yellow), Sleep Apnea, Sleep Disorders, Students for Gun Control, Trauma.

Grey Ribbon:
Meaning: Allergies, Aphasia, Diabetes, Asthma, brain cancer, Brain Tumors, and diabetes awareness.

Silver Ribbon:
Meaning: Children with disabilities, Parkinson's disease, and mental illnesses such as severe depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and anxiety disorders.

Gold Ribbon:
Meaning: COPD, Embryonal Rhabdomysarcoma, Childhood Cancer (alternative colors are pink and light blue) and includes cancers such as the types of leukemia.

Lime Green Ribbon:
Meaning: Lymphoma, Lyme Disease, Muscular Dystrophy, Ivemark Syndrome, Sandhoff Disease

Pinstripe Ribbon:
Meaning: ALS, Amytrophic Lateral Scierosis, Lou Gehrig's Disease.

Puzzle Ribbon:
Meaning: Autism, Asperger Syndrome, a development disorder with impaired social communication.

Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia.

Pink and Blue Ribbon:
Meaning: Miscarriage, stillbirth, and infant death due to SIDS, Pregnancy, Male Breast Cancer.

Rainbow Ribbon:
Meaning: Gay pride and support for the GLBT community and their quest for equal rights.

Blue and Yellow Ribbon:
Meaning: Down Syndrome, designated driver.

Autism Awareness

Pink Ribbon:

Breast Cancer Awareness